Movie Review “Dallas Buyers Club”

The Oscar nominated and winning movie, “Dallas Buyers Club” has received a lot of praise. I wanted to see what all the talk was about. The opening scene in the movie really sets the stage well for what you are sitting down to spend the next two hours watching. Sex and drugs. Lots of sex and drugs.
The rawness of the film, helps you bond with the characters. The rough Texan, the man’s man, suddenly finds himself with a disease that at the time, was predominately a homosexual disease. In order to find a method to live with HIV, he had to overcome his severe hatred of that group of people.
The plot worked well because the character went through something that I think everyone can relate too. Who doesn’t fear being kicked out of their social group and forced to join one that we aren’t comfortable with?
The secondary plot about the how little was known about HIV and AIDS in the 80s is obviously the “message” the writers were hoping to get across. Don’t see this movie hoping it will educate you on the facts of the virus. I noticed the writers seemed to press with the idea that the audience would already be fully educated and there would be no need to elaborate. There are hints here and there, to help you in case you are completely clueless. And I think for the most part, this was a safe assumption for the writers to make. These days, most of us are aware, I would think.
If you can tolerate the crudeness, or rawness of the sexual scenes, I would say this movie is worth seeing. Like I said, the plot is one anyone can relate too. But because of the context used to tell the story, I can understand if some people don’t want to see it.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

One response to “Movie Review “Dallas Buyers Club”

Leave a Reply

