Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, movie review

My expectations were high for this movie. It has been receiving some very stunning reviews. And it has Gary Oldman in it, one of my favorite actors.  I am happy to report, the movie met my expectations.

The gut wrenching part of these movies is, you know how it’s going to end up. You know the Apes are going to win. So as you see them struggle for peace, you keep rooting for them to achieve it, even though you know in the back of your mind, they won’t. The movie is very dark, and the few uplifting moments are quickly snuffed out by tragic events.

Now this is a sequel. I would recommend seeing the first movie before you see this one. There are several tie-ins to the first movie. The main apes are in both movies. However it is a brand new human cast. If it’s been a while since you’ve seen the movie, or you haven’t seen it, don’t worry. They do a little spin-up in the opening credits that fills you in on what happened in the first movie and helps you understand the current status of the world.

The graphics are astounding. If the movie had boring parts, I didn’t notice them because I was so busy trying to see a flaw in the apes. They truly looked real. Only the newborn was a dead CGI giveaway, and really he only felt fake when the human actors had to respond to him. You could tell they had no idea where to look or what they were really looking at.

The apes riding horses, seemed a bit overkill. I’d like to know where these horses are kept when they aren’t riding them—cause they sure seemed tame and obedient for free range.

The camera angles and cinematography was excellent. There were a few first person shooter type scenes and some panoramic shots that really worked well. The most violent and traumatic scenes were often muted, which was a nice break from movies that enjoy trying to make you go deaf.

Overall Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is a must see. It’s an action movie that is the opposite of Transformers 4. Instead of assaulting your senses, you are taken on an emotional journey that keeps you grounded in the grim reality of how dark society can be.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

One response to “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, movie review

Leave a Reply

