Secretary (2002) movie review

This is an older movie that I wanted to see because a forum mentioned it in comparison to Fifty Shades of Grey. I thought people were saying that “Secretary” got the whole BDSM correct. And showed that you didn’t have to be all messed up in the head, to be in to that kind of thing.

So I wanted to watch this movie that, “got it right”. And I wanted to see how much was copied, I mean, the lawyer/main character was named Edward Grey. Gee, those names sound familiar.

Well, to put it bluntly, I will never be the same again. I’m pretty sure I misunderstood the forum.

I thought it was going to be a romantic comedy. It tried to be, but was too disturbing for my taste. Remember the yellow submarine movie? This was kind of like that, the plot and characters were all weird and I think they were on drugs, but it was never shown. Every character had massive mental problems. And instead of trying to get better and become normal, they embraced it. Which I guess is okay. But man, was it a weird road to get there.

You have a girl who enjoys cutting herself and a man who enjoys being abusive. Put them together and they are perfect for each other. Right? That’s the basic plot and idea. And it is not at all what “Fifty Shades of Grey” is about.

If you want to watch a romantic movie that will leave you unsettled. This is the movie to watch. But if you are wanting a “Fifty Shades of Grey” fix… run the other way. Run fast.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

