Deamhan book review

I’ve only read a few Vampire books. And most seem to just copy each other in one aspect or another. This book was refreshing in the fact that it wasn’t just about Vampires. The author created their own supernatural creatures called Deamhan. Background and history was given for all these races, so much so, that really, Vampires could have been excluded and then the book would have been completely original.

The plot was riddled with conspiracies, lies and the like. Pretty much every character you are introduced too, likely has an ulterior motive going on. To me, I like my stories less bogged down with backstabbing and lies, all those subplots can get confusing. But this story did a good job of keeping it all straight.

I did have trouble believing in the world. Not for the reasons you would think either. I wasn’t told otherwise, so I assumed the book takes place in current time and the Deamhan /Vampires are just hidden. Most of us don’t know they exist, kind of thing.

But the problem with that logic is… one Deamham/Vampire appears to feed on… oh five people a night, on average. And they have nightclubs, and hidden places where just dozens of humans are being kept hostage and eventually tortured and murdered. There are quite of few of these creatures too, not just one or two per town. I’d say there are hundreds, if not more just in Minneapolis, the town the book takes place. I’m sure you can see where I’m going with this.

If you do the math, whoa is that a lot of people who are going missing and or turning up murdered. Unless these creatures are smuggling their victims in from some third world country, which is unlikely since they are living in a landlocked state in the United States. I would think not only would people be aware that there is something fishy going on but eventually they’d run out of willing subjects. It’s going to get harder and harder to snag people off the street if a thousand people are going missing EVERY night in ONE CITY. The stats aren’t that bad, even in your biggest cities. (I checked Minneapolis had 39 murders in 2012.) Even if there is only one Deamhan in a big city, five people going missing/murdered EVERY night, is still a lot. (1,825 victims a yr for one Deamhan)

Maybe most people who read supernatural books accept this high number of deaths as normal, but I had trouble accepting it.

So… aside from that logistical error… the book was a good read. If you are into darker Vampire books, you should add Deamhan to your to-read list.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

