Maze Runner, movie review

I wanted to like this movie. I really did. I remember some classic movies where people are abducted and put into a maze or puzzle and they must figure out how to escape. You know, like the Saw movies but with a real plot and not all the gore. That’s what I was expecting when I went to see Maze Runner.

As I started watching it, I realized it was more “Lord of the Flies” than it was a cool maze. The idea is these kids are being put there and they were supposed to be trying to leave, but instead one kid got it in his head that they should stay. So they all stayed. For three years they stayed. So then a kid who helped design the maze is put in, to help them get out. I’m thinking, that makes sense, I would get upset too if the people weren’t playing the game.

It only takes the new arrival three days and he gets the kids out. Yup, that’s right, they get out of the maze. Now here is where this goes from a good movie, to a bad. All in the last fifteen minutes.

All they needed to do was END it. Give me the bad guy, give me a nice simple reason as for why they were being put in the maze. And I would be happy.

But no. The movie twists, warps and decides it wants to be like Divergent and Hunger Games. Let’s go all geo-political and draw this plot out for three books and four movies. The kids get out, only to find that that was only step one in the massive puzzle of “tests” they must endure.

I’m like, WTF? It took those kids THREE YEARS to get out of the maze. Is this like a competition to win a 401K retirement plan? Cause the rate this is going, that’s what these kids will want by the time they finish.

Maybe I’m just sick and tired of dystopian movies involving putting kids in harm’s way. This was too much like Hunger Games, Divergent and the Giver. See it if you want, but be forewarned, the ending is crummy–in more ways than I already told you.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

