Gone Girl, movie review

There was something enticing about the trailer for this movie. I think I decided to see the movie simply because I wanted to know, did he or did he not kill his wife?

Normally I shy away from Ben Affleck movies. To me, he’s not the best actor. But he did well for this role; emotionless husband, with occasion flash bursts of anger.

I was also worried about the length. Two and half hours long, most movies that long are pushing it. But this movie was perfect. Never did I glance at my watch. I was actually eagerly wanting more. And unlike most movies I’ve seen lately, this one had a superb ending.

The plot takes several twists and often you are on the edge of your seat wondering, “will they get caught?” And cheering for one side or the other. And the surprises keep coming.

The dialogue is great, there are several great one liners that will make you chuckle. It’s the exchange between the actors that keep the movie feeling “real”. The sarcastic remarks that family members make and the accidental words spoken, we’ve all been there. I can’t say more, because I don’t want to give any suspense moments away.

I’m betting this movie will be nominated for a Golden Globe and will win. Its the first movie I’ve seen this year that I can honestly say that about. So don’t let the length of the movie or the fact Ben Affleck is in it deter you. Go see it.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

