Hollowland, by Amanda Hocking, book review

This book reads like Hunger Games and Twilight. Its first person with a female main character. Although there are typos, the book is well written in the parts that were actually edited correctly. Normally a book with numerous editing mistakes annoys me, but these mistakes were easy to read around and the story was good enough that I didn’t mind.

As someone who also writes about zombies, I know how hard and rare it is to find a good book about zombies that actually has some originality. In my opinion this book achieves that.

The author also does a good job of hinting at things but not telling you everything up front, so you feel compelled to read on, because you want to know not only what happens next, but the answers to what’s hinted at.

This book is written appropriately for young adults. Although there are zombies, I was never scared, so it’s not a horror book.

I would mark this as a must read for anyone who enjoyed the recent craze of dystopian books. This one is very original and has aspects that keep you wanting to read more.

The only people it’s not for are the realists out there. If you read other reviews on the book you’ll find that’s the biggest complaint. But come on, you’re reading a zombie book… I think when you decided to pick up a zombie book, you should have already realized logic would not be included.

Hollowland by Amanda Hocking

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

