Hollowmen, by Amanda Hocking, book review

The first book in this series impressed me. But the second book read like a horror slasher movie. It was all about the guts and gore. Imagine your B rated horror movie–poor acting, cheesy dialogue and unnecessary, exaggerated violence–that’s this book.

I know a person should be lenient when it comes to the “could that really happen” aspects of a book that involves zombies. But this book really didn’t even try.

I was struggling to find a way to believe and understand the book from the start, when the main character is having abdominal surgery, wide awake with no pain killers. They are doing biopsies or something. And I’m sorry, but unless you are cutting a person open, intending to kill them, this isn’t possible. The person would struggle and you’d end up accidently cutting something that you shouldn’t. They claim they’ve done this over and over, for six months. So by now, if somehow she lived, she’d be really messed up, like a vegetable and/or insane.

Then the surgeons abandon her in the middle of surgery, which makes no sense. In the first book, her brother was evacuated first, because he was the cure and important. But now she’s the cure and they just ditch her?

She of course, frees herself and stitches herself up. Then hikes for a few days and does sit-ups, push-ups the next night, oh, and cleans it with river water. Um no, unless this surgery was just a paper cut, me thinks not. If she needs to do all this, then give her a super power or something, so I can believe it.

Then the zombie attacks get ridiculous. One example, a zombie is able to grab hold of an intestine tendril after three bites–within like ten seconds—and yanks it across the room with him when he’s kicked away. I’m not even sure a dog could accomplish that, let alone a zombie with dull human teeth. Lots of muscle and tissue to go through in the abdomen before you’d reach the intestines, ya know? (Starting to see what I mean about horror movie gore?)

Plot wise, I have the same complaints as other reviewers claim. The characters from the first book are all either dead or just briefly mentioned. People, like Lazlo, who claimed he would wait for Remy and never leave her, left on the first evacuation. And more illogical nonsense, they actually connect via CB radio but make zero effort to join up. Excuses like, “we can’t wait for you” and “our group will be too big and attract zombies” are given. Um, they just went super out of their way to get her kid brother who they didn’t even know was alive, so this seems like a much more doable quest than that. And how about you re-split the group up after you meet?

It doesn’t make sense for Remy to put so much effort into finding her brother (2 day hike the wrong direction) but zero into finding the man she loves. Unless she doesn’t love him, in which case, tell me that! Cause from how the book reads, the flame died cause, well, whatever, this CB radio only has a 2 miles radius and I’m tired, but I will hike all day tomorrow, so eh.

If you read the first book, which I still suggest you do, you’ll want to read this book. But I recommend against it. This sequel is a flop.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

