American Sniper, movie review

There’s a lot of controversy swirling around this movie. Honestly, I didn’t know it was based on a true story until I was in the theater. From that aspect, the movie is touching, especially at the end when the real footage of the funeral procession is shown.

However the movie itself plays more like a history channel biography than a thrilling war movie. At times, I was reminded of “Zero Dark Thirty” but in the end, the movie was too disjointed. A quick scene is shown, then large chunks of time would pass before you would rejoin the plot. This left most of the audience feeling distanced from the characters.

At no point did I bond with a character strong enough to feel or share in their emotions. Which is sad, because there was some very powerful acting involved.

 

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

