Lazarus Effect, movie review

I had high hopes for this movie. I envisioned a movie similar to “Hollowman” with Kevin Bacon and “Deep Blue Sea” with LL Cool J. I know some of you remember those classics. This movie seemed to have the same idea with well intentioned scientists letting things get out of hand.

But this movie tried to rely too much on cheesy scare tactics and adrenaline pumping background music. I mean, sometimes the music would do the drastic change and give away the scare before it would happen. You know how when the masked murderer lunges for his victim and the music suddenly drums out a really loud cord? That kind of thing was common in this movie. And annoying.

The actors gave it their all. But the plot didn’t provide enough back story to enable them to create interesting characters. Instead it was the traditional horror movie where each person got picked off one by one.

And the ending… very creepy. That’s all I’m going to say.

But, it’s only an hour and 23 minutes long. And it does go quickly. If you like cheesy horror movies, then this is a must see. If you don’t… then run away from this movie… run fast and far.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

