Insurgent, movie review and book comparison

It’s been over a year since I read the book. But I remember enough to know that the movie is barely anything like the book. In a way, I think this is a good thing. The book was confusing and focused a lot on Tris being suicidal and quarreling with Four. Those aspects are pretty much gone for the movie.

I first noticed the plot was massively different when the Amity part ended rather quickly. I remember that lasting for like, half the book. So many boring council meetings. Not a one in the movie.

There was this “secret box” too. So the secret Tris’ parents were keeping became an object. I thought it was a nice touch for the movie. It helped in simplifying other storylines so the movie could be understood by anyone, even those who haven’t read the book.

The ending was a shocker. I didn’t think that much info was exposed in book 2. But I could be remembering wrong. Either way, the ending was quite nice, to me. They could almost just stop and not make any more movies.

I would give this movie a higher rating than the first movie and a much higher rating than the book. I applaud the producers. The changes they made worked well.

Click here to view my original review of the book Insurgent

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

