Straight Outta Compton, movie review

Okay, so I went into this movie blind. I’d missed the start time of the movie I intended to see, and this one was next in line to be shown. I’d never even seen a trailer for it.

Aside from the length—the movie was nearly three hours long if you include trailers—the movie is one of the best this year. It reaffirmed my belief in movies who are centered on real life musicians actually being capable of having a point and plot. (Unlike Bessie that I still don’t know why it was made)

The audience is exposed to the brutality of racial abuse by police found in many urban areas in the 80’s and into the 90s. I, like many I’m sure, had no idea the police were so violent and aggressive. Yes, it may have been exaggerated for Hollywood, but the point is still the same. Real news footage is shown at various parts of the movie, solidifying the film’s basis in reality.

The ending, and plot, come full circle with the death of one of the main characters, Eazy-E. As if the moral message of how these men rose from a rough situation and became something isn’t enough, we are now given a grisly reminder of how deadly AIDS is and how easy it is to think you are immune.

Overall, I would say this is a good movie to see. You’ll learn a lot, and not just about the N.W.A. group, but about American history in general. Although the movie was long, I was never bored and my quick run to refill my drink was done in haste because I didn’t want to miss anything. There were no dull or boring moments for me to take a quick intermission.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

