Midnight Special, movie review

This film…was different. I thought it was going to be about a little boy who was the next messiah, or some such. Instead, well, he was an alien from an alternate world. I think. Really, they leave it vague. The feel of the movie reminded me of an M. Night Shyamalan movie. You are only given bits of info as the movie progresses. You aren’t spoonfed anything and by the end of the film you are still left with a lot of questions.

For those who are looking for an actual synopsis, here’s the basics, with moderate spoilers. There’s a ranch, one of those super religious camps, which surprisingly isn’t all that bad, just a bit misled. They think the 8 yr old is their messiah. The father of the boy rescues or kidnaps him (depending on your viewpoint) from the camp leader in an effort to take the boy to a specific location, where the boy can rejoin others like him which live on an alternate plane of existence. The FBI are involved because the boy can hear radio transmissions, including classified ones, and the preacher from camp has been including the info in his sermons. At one point the FBI get a hold of the boy, but the boy uses his super powers, which are never clearly defined and seem to change to be whatever is convenient, to escape.

The kid shoots light beams from his eyes, which if aimed into another person’s eyes, seems to give them a sense of bliss. This eyebeam thing only happens in the day, so he sleeps in the day. They avoid the sun and travel at night, hence the title of the movie. Later they figure out he gets power from the sun, or at least that’s what I took from what they showed, and he then is out and about all the time in the sun. Like I said, the rules change to suit the flow of the film.

Do I suggest seeing it? Meh, if you like the M. Night Shyamalan style movies, then sure, you’d probably like this one. The acting is amazing, special effects are spot on, overall the film was greatly done. The plot just doesn’t make a whole lot of sense and leaves you with a lot of questions.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

