Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, 2014 and 2016, movie reviews

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

To prep for seeing this movie, I went and bought the first one. I had very low expectations for this film and was delighted when I  discovered this was an origins story, that was—dare I say—original. Or at least more detailed than most origin tales around the turtles.

April finds out that these turtles were actually her pets as a child and that she saved them. The turtles and rat were all test subjects in her father’s lab and she treated them like beloved pets. This twist adds a heartwarming aspect to the storyline that I did not expect.

The film has some good one liners, mostly at the expense of the character Vernon, who plays the cameraman for April. The movie wouldn’t have been nearly as good without him.

There are some parts that are wildly unrealistic. And I don’t just mean bullet proof turtle shells. I was literally yelling at the television when April cranked up the adrenaline on the monitor attached the turtles. They were having their blood drained and when April asked what she should do to help them from falling unconscious, they told her to give them Adrenaline. Why, oh why, would there but a button on the machine labeled that? And if all Shredder wanted was their blood, why wouldn’t he take the people he thought were dead? Blood is blood. Like I said, some parts didn’t add up.

Aside from that, the film held up better than I expected.

Now for the sequel. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows

This movie took a nose dive. All the progress the first film had made, was destroyed by this one. It was one long commercial for toys. Instead of actually having a plot, it tried to stir up interest by bringing into play characters that the fans would know. The “oh I know that guy” was so obvious that even if you didn’t know the guy, you’d know you were supposed to him.

April’s character was reduced to a pretty face to gawk at. I’m not kidding. She is making pouty lip faces in nearly all of her scenes. The opening scene actually has her wearing difference slutty things, and flirting with guys, in an effort to steal information.

I think there was supposed to a morale in there about becoming a team and being a good leader, since Leo struggles with this, saying, “I don’t know how to make them all think the same.” And Splinter tells him, “You shouldn’t want them too.” But the moral never goes anywhere. Instead when a big decision needs to be made, he passes the job of deciding off to the other three. Yeah… that’s just teaching us to give up, not be a better leader. So I’m not sure what I was supposed to learn. Aside from, go buy all the cool toys. I think there’s also a message about accepting yourself even if you look like a monster, but that one was all kinds of convoluted too.

In the end, this is a skip it kind of movie. If you enjoy Nickelodeon type action movies, think Power Rangers, then sure, this is a good one to go to. The younger crowd will eat it up—and then beg for toys.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

