The Taking, book review

Dean Koontz,  “The Taking”

I listened to the audio book of this novel. The story started off great, setting the stage for an alien invasion. It had the classic feel of being an end of the world horror story. There were so many different theories thrown out as to what was actually going on, that it did give the impression the author was trying too hard to throw you off the trail of what was really happening. A bit too much stress was put on the mystery of it all.

Then our character was given a quest, a mission if you will. To find all the missing children. So at least the focus was taken off the “why is this happening” bit and the story went in a different direction. At this point, things became too far stretched, and really just a jumble of weird events. The middle of the novel really went off the deep end into this mystical world of nonsense. People were doing things that made no sense, there were supernatural creatures, and in all this, the goal was simply, “save the children!”

I kept going, despite the weirdness, and the end of the novel did work very hard to tie up all the loose ends and provide an explanation for everything.

The entire book is written very well. You will feel like you are there with the characters on every step of this strange and horrific journey. Koontz has a very talented gift at painting pictures perfectly for you to see in your mind.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

