Florence Foster Jenkins, movie review

This film is a heartfelt true story of Florence Foster Jenkins, just as the trailer and title suggest. For the most part, the movie was as expected. The part I wasn’t aware of until things started rolling, was that her devoted husband had a girlfriend. That extra bit of drama added just what the story needed to keep your curiosity peaked as to what exactly the dynamics of the shown relationships were.

This movie also taught me more about Syphilis than any sexual education class ever has. I had no idea the depths of the disease back before we had penicillin to treat it. If you want to scare someone straight in regards to unprotected sexual activity—this is the movie to show them.

The acting of everyone was amazing. And even though you would expect this kind of tale to be a bit slow paced and boring at parts, I never found that to be true. There was always some drama unfolding that you weren’t sure how it would end up.

Aside from the entertaining story, there are great lessons to be found about love, life, and great tidbits about American history and diseases in this film. I recommend it for all drama movie fans.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

