Kubo and the Two Strings, movie review

I hadn’t intended to see this movie but when I saw there were barely any bad reviews, I had to see what the hype was about. To summarize, the reviews did not let me down. The movie held up to the high expectations people’s praise set.

The movie will be especially touching to those who know someone who suffers or suffered with Alzheimer’s or other forms of memory loss. Kubo’s mother suffers from memory problems, and this problem is present in other characters as well. The overall theme is how a god gives up being a god to be a human, and the goal is to have a child convince the so called god to give it up and live on earth as a human, because being human and experiencing love is worth more than living forever. There is of course an epic quest involved and the classic tale of having the storyteller live out his own adventure, rather than just tell stories of great adventure.

The animation is amazing, and if you stay for the credits you’ll get to see some of the Claymation process, which is a nice little treat. As others have stated in reviews, the plot is a little dark for a kid’s movie, but there isn’t gore, just violence, which is something you see in a lot of cartoons these days.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

3 responses to “Kubo and the Two Strings, movie review

Leave a Reply

