Beauty and the Beast, 2017, movie review

This movie was a bit of a disappointment. It’s one of those films that was given a lot of promotion and hype, so my expectations were high.

First, it plays out like a Broadway musical. It’s a bit gaudy and tasteless, with a weird attempt at displaying the setting as being in the 17 or 18th century, since the men are wearing powdered wigs and make-up. It just doesn’t fit well, and I couldn’t tell if I was supposed to be laughing or thinking they looked good. The movie felt like a montage of theater men wearing excessive make-up, wigs, and yes, even dresses, although that is mostly for a funny joke, which also happens in the original animated version. More songs are added to the feature as well, making it almost up there with “La La Land” in the use of more song than actual dialogue.

Some plots were changed, and the reasons why people do certain things are shuffled up a bit, but it’s not for the better and really just creates more questions and confusion.

The special effects, sure they were okay, but it felt like the movie was pushing them on me. Like someone was off to the side going, “Look, look, wasn’t that awesome? Are you seeing this?” And scenes looked either identical to the animated movie, or identical to the Disney World park areas that feature the animated movie. Which then started distracting me from a marketing aspect. Belle’s dress changed a bit, and we were made painfully aware of it by watching the flying through air, creation of it, and all I could think was, “Oh Disney did that so they can sell a new dress. They’ll now have two Belle dresses to sell to little girls.” She did plenty of wardrobe changes, so the doll makers will have lots of outfits to market. Trinkets were abundant too, so I expect to see them all in stores very soon.

If you enjoy musicals, and movies that for the most part, copycat the original film, then you’ll probably like this remake. To me, it was a flop. It had great potential, but opted to be cheesy. It’s a movie to watch on DVD and make fun of with your friends. For example, Gaston sets a wheelbarrow on fire, and then the entire village population leaves—while its burning. We see it later, still in the village burning, when we go to a trapped Bell and her father. Then there’s the cell Beast locks Belle in—it has a nice door sized ledge, perfect for jumping out and committing suicide. Why exactly would you put a people sized whole in a wall in a cell? And that’s a just a few. Like I said, it will be a great movie to mock, so it might become a cult classic.

About mizner13

Welcome to my blog! I live in Florida with my husband and our Kitty, a rescued Abyssinian. I have several novels published under the name "Nina Schluntz". I’m an avid movie goer, so most of my blog posts will be a review of the most recent movie I happened to see. Sometimes I’ll mix it up and read a book too. Or… my favorite, I’ll see the movie then read the book it was based on! View all posts by mizner13

Leave a Reply

